BASINGSTOKE COLLEGE OF TECHNOLOGY CORPORATION

SEARCH COMMITTEE

MINUTES OF A MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY 13 MARCH 2018

Membership:	*	Pamela Woolgrove	External Member	Chair
-		Anthony Bravo	Principal	
	*	Lynne George	External Member	
	*	Mike Howe	External Member	
		Vacancy (MM)	Staff Member	
			•	
Quorum:		3 Members required	3 present	Meeting quorate
In Attendance:	*	Simon Burrell	Clerk to the Corporation (Clerk)	
Present at Meeting:	*			

PART 1 - NON-CONFIDENTIAL MATTERS

		ACTION
244.	APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE	
	Anthony Bravo.	
245.	DECLARATION OF INTERESTS	
	Pamela Woolgrove declared an interest in Agenda Item 3 – Re-appointment of Current Members.	
246.	MEMBERSHIP OF THE CORPORATION	
	A written report was received and considered. The Clerk took Members through the report.	
	1. Current Vacancies	
	It was noted that there were six vacancies on the Corporation (5 External Members and 1 Staff Member).	
	2. Prospective New Members	
	It was noted that the Ctte had met three prospective new Members (Julie Hall, Keith Jackman, and Dave Murray) on 26 Feb 2018. Copies of their CVs were received and noted.	
	The Ctte considered each prospective new Member for appointment to the Corporation. The Ctte also considered the appointment of each to a Committee of the corporation.	

246. (cont)	3. Re-appointment of Current Members				
(cont)	It was noted that Pamela Woolgrove's current term of office had expired on 31 Dec 2016, and that the Corporation had agreed to an extension until the proposed merger with Alton College had been resolved.				
	Three current Members' (Steve Fussey, Gareth Moores, and Martin Slatford) terms of office were due to expire on 31 March 2018. Each was considered for a further term.				
	It was RESOLVED to RECOMMENDED to the CORPORATION that:				
	 Julie Hall, Keith Jackman and Dave Murray be appointed as External Members for a four-year term of office commencing 1 April 2018, and be appointed as Members of the Quality Ctte, F&R Ctte and Audit Ctte respectively, Pamela Woolgrove be re-appointed for a four-year term of office commencing 1 January 2017, Steve Fussey, Gareth Moores and Martin Slatford be reappointed for a further term of office commencing 1 April 2018. (Proposed by Mike Howe, Seconded by Lynne George) 				
	4. Staff Member Vacancy				
	The Clerk was requested to seek nominations for the Staff Member vacancy.	Clerk			
247.	MEMBERS ATTENDANCE RECORD 2016/17				
	A written report was received for information. The Clerk advised that the overall cumulative average attendance of all Members was 74%. He advised further that a survey of 111 colleges showed an overall average of 80.5%, within a range of 68%-95%.				
248.	ELECTION OF CHAIR OF THE COMMITTEE				
	The Clerk advised that the term of office of Chair of the Committee expired on 21 May 2018. He called for nominations for Chair of the Search Ctte for a two-year term of office commencing on the 22 May 2018. One nomination was received.				
	It was RESOLVED that Pamela Woolgrove be elected Chair of the Ctte for a two-year term of office commencing on the 22 May 2018. (Proposed by Lynne George, Seconded by Mike Howe)				
249.	DATE OF NEXT MEETING [Meetings commence at 3.00pm unless stated]				
	Wednesday 13 June 2018				