BCoT Logo

Enrolment systems will be up and down through today, Sat 4th Feb 2023, from 9am to 3pm.  Please do not attempt to apply or enroll for any courses as access may cut out at any time today. Sorry for the inconvenience, when this "red" message has gone the site is back to normal and you can apply and enroll as normal. 


Engineering staff member celebrates 50 years at BCoT

BCoT celebrated the achievements of all staff at the annual staff summer BBQ.

 Awards at the Staff Summer BBQ

Basingstoke College of Technology (BCoT) recently celebrated the achievements of all curriculum and corporate staff at the annual staff summer BBQ and awards ceremony. Staff enjoyed marking the end of a busy term with lots of food, drink and a special visit from the Mr. Whippy ice cream van!


The most notable award was presented to Pete Dixon, who was honoured with a long-service ‘Gold Award’ for his 50 years of working at BCoT.  Pete works within the Engineering department and has taken on most roles during his time at the College, including Faculty Head, Head of the Engineering department and Lead Assessor. He now works part-time as an Assessor and IQA.  Pete has also trained most of the Engineering managers in the local area whose companies now have Apprentices.


Principal Anthony Bravo said: “Pete is a very professional and private colleague, but is hugely valued as a great source of advice and guidance by the whole Engineering team.  He is excellent at his job and is not only well respected within the College, but also in the local area at the various Engineering firms and by the awarding bodies.”


Pete’s daughter, Becki commented: “I’m super proud of my dad who received his 50-year long service award from BCoT.  He’s 74 and still works part-time! He’s had numerous roles over the years and has taught many engineers.”


Principal Anthony also announced other staff award winners at the BBQ, as voted in a survey by other colleagues, including:

  • Corporate Member of the Year - Sally Tyler (Deputy Student Records Manager)
  • Curriculum Staff Member of the Year - Paul Beckett (Course Director for Automotive)
  • Aspiral Staff Member of the Year - Ian Scott (Apprenticeship (Maths & English) Progression Tutor)
  • Outstanding Employer Engagement - Kate Barrett (Specialist Support Tutor) and Dave Trevellion (Course Director for Construction)
  • Apprentice of the Year - Jay Anderson (Digital Apprentice)
  • Delivery - Bright Beginning - Emma Bevan (Lecturer for Hairdressing)
  • Indirect Support - Bright Beginning - James Ridley (Desktop Support Engineer)
  • Direct Support Bright Beginnings - Felicia Troberg (Retention and Progression Tutor)
  • Delivery Team of the Year - Art and Design
  • Direct Support Team of the Year - Curriculum Technicians
  • Indirect Support Team of the Year - Exams
  • Innovators of the Year – individual or team - Scott Hayden (Digital Innovation Specialist) and Digital Team
  • Staff Voted by Students (Full-time) - Fiona Dicks (Course Director for Health Care And Early Years) and Mark McKechnie (Course Director for Travel & Tourism and Business)
  • Staff Voted by Students (Part-time) - Angela Greening (Course Director for Finance and Professional Courses)
  • Principal’s Award - Daunta Trench, Katrina Heath (Health And Safety Coordinator) and Ian Ward (IT Services Manager)


2022 Basingstoke College of Technology, Worting Road, Basingstoke, Hampshire RG21 8TN.
Disability Confident Logo Matrix Logo Ofsted Good Provider Logo AccessAble Logo QAA Logo ESFA Logo Global Vocational Skills Logo Google for Education Logo Stop and Search Logo